News > 2018 > Georges Dionne awarded $3.6 million in new research funding

Georges Dionne awarded $3.6 million in new research funding

April 18, 2018

Georges Dionne

Professor Georges Dionne is to receive more than $3.6 million to pursue his risk management research, focused mainly on high-frequency trading, the phenomenon of securitization in financial markets and the measurement of liquidity risks.

He was recently awarded $1.9 million in funding from the John R. Evans Leaders Fund of the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) (40%), the Quebec government (40%) and private partners (20%) including the National Bank. These grants will allow him to develop the infrastructure required for the new Canada Research Chair in Risk Management research program.

The Chair directed by Professor Dionne was renewed in January 2018, representing an additional $1.4 million in funding.

Lastly, with professors François Bellavance, Philippe d’Astous and Bruno Rémillard of HEC Montréal, and Manuel Morales of the Université de Montréal, Professor Dionne obtained $340,000 from the Institute for Data Valorization (IVADO) and Intact Assurance in order to launch new research into artificial intelligence. The research will apply to high-frequency trading, detection of insurance fraud, and optimal insurance ratemaking in the presence of asymmetrical information.

About Professor George Dionne

Professor Dionne has published numerous scientific papers and books, and has taught risk management in the HEC Montréal Department of Finance since 1996. He is also a researcher associated with the Interuniversity Research Centre on Enterprise Networks, Logistics and Transportation (CIRRELT).

He has directed 98 Master’s theses, 31 PhD dissertations and 8 postdoctoral internships. The Royal Society of Canada awarded him the Innis-Gérin Medal in 2011 for his eminent and sustained contribution to the social sciences in Canada. He has also received two of the School’s awards of excellence: the Pierre-Laurin award in 2016 and the Jean-Guertin award in 2011, for his contributions to research and teaching.