News > 2020 > HEC Montréal victorious at the 2020 Financial Open Cup

HEC Montréal victorious at the 2020 Financial Open Cup

February 4, 2020

The HEC Montréal delegation took first place at the 2020 Financial Open Cup, held at the Lévis campus of the Université du Québec à Rimouski, from January 31 to February 2.

The School came out on top overall in this interuniversity competition bringing together over 350 finance and accounting students from some ten universities across Canada.

In fact, HEC Montréal students finished on the podium in six of the ten events held over the weekend.

The heads of the delegation thanked the alumni and professors who came out to support them during their preparations. They also acknowledged the financial support they received from the Association des diplômés.



Financial Accounting


Management Accounting


CFA Ethics Challenge


Market Finance




Financial News Quiz


The delegation members

Management Accounting: Antoine Campeau-Vallerand, Carole-Anne Leblanc and Mathieu Vendette. Coach: Céline Gemmel.

Financial Accounting: Abir Baddar, Éli Mignault and Nicolas Richard. Coaches: Sébastien Chung, François Danjou and Sonia Molleyres.

CFA Ethics Challenge: Charles-Olivier Guignard, Ian Perreault, Florence Tremblay and Romain Vicendo. Coach: Pierre Saint-Laurent.

Corporate Finance: John-Nathan Chung, Claudie Lachapelle and Jérémi Riendeau-Demers. Coach: Jacques Lemay.

Market Finance: Georges-William Croft-LeBel, François Deschênes and Timothé Després. Coach: Pierre Saint-Laurent.

Taxation: Émilien Castonguay, Étienne Dicaire and Emma Guilbault. Coaches: Anthony Provencher and Simon Vallières.

Personal Financial Planning: Catherine Bédard, Maxime Gagnon and Thomas Lanouette. Coaches: Alexandre Duckett-Dufresne and Charles-Antoine Lévesque.

Financial News Quiz: Félix Aubé, Édouard Fillon and Renaud Pilon-Boucher. Coach: Nicolas Richard.

Stock Exchange Simulation: Jacob Carignan, Thomas Chamberland, Benjamin Couture and Charles-Olivier Matton. Coach: Jean-Benoit Courchesne.

Volunteers: Julien Baribeault, Amélie Harvey, Virginie Mercier, William Roch and Pablo Segura-Franco.

Co-ordinator: Natasha Séguin

Ambassador: Marianne Gélinas

Accompanying the delegation: Maude Lacoursière

The delegation was also accompanied by Professor René Gendreau.