News > 2016 > Gilbert Laporte receives the Urgel-Archambault award

Gilbert Laporte receives the Urgel-Archambault award

October 19, 2016

The Acfas has presented Full Professor Gilbert Laporte (Management Sciences) with the Urgel-Archambault award in physics, mathematics, computer science and engineering.

This is the first time that an HEC Montréal professor has received this award, given annually to a researcher to salute the excellence and influence of his or her work and activities.

Acfas President Frédéric Bouchard says that “The Acfas is proud to salute Professor Laporte’s work with the Urgel-Archambault award. His research touches closely on many everyday activities, including the use of health services, parcel home delivery, and more.”

Professor Laporte is an international leader, one of the world's most widely cited authors in all fields, based on his Google Scholar Citations public profile. He has authored or co-authored 19 books and over 500 scientific papers on combinatorial optimization, mainly in the areas of vehicle routing, location science and scheduling.

Professor Laporte earned a PhD in Operational Research from the London School of Economics in 1975, and joined the faculty at HEC Montréal the following year. He has held the Canada Research Chair in Distribution Management since 2001. He is also a founding member of the Group for Research on Decision Analysis (GERAD) and a member of the Interuniversity Research Centre on Enterprise Networks, Logistics and Transportation (CIRRELT).

Professor Laporte’s exceptional contribution to research has been recognized on numerous occasions thanks to the originality, quality, relevance and scope of his work.


1987 – Pergamon Prize (United Kingdom)

1994 – Award of Merit from the Canadian Operational Research Society

1998 – Elected a member of the Royal Society of Canada 

1999 – Acfas Jacques Rousseau award for multidisciplinarity

1999 – President’s Medal from the Operational Research Society (United Kingdom)

2001 – HEC Montréal Grand Prize for Teaching Excellence

2005 – Elected an INFORMS Fellow

2005 – Co-recipient of the Glover-Klingman Award

2007 – Innis-Gérin Medal from the Royal Society of Canada

2009 – Gérard Parizeau Award

2009 – Robert M. Herman Lifetime Achievement Award in Transportation Science

2012 – Pierre Laurin Research Award from HEC Montréal

2014 – Shared first prize in the FICO international “Optimize the Real World” competition

2014 – Lifetime Achievement Award in Location Analysis

2016 – Honorary PhD from the Eindhoven University of Technology in the Netherlands