News > 2012 > Georges Dionne receives the 2012 Marcel Dagenais Award

Georges Dionne receives the 2012 Marcel Dagenais Award

May 15, 2012

The 2012 Marcel Dagenais Award was presented to Professor Georges Dionne at the banquet for the 52nd convention of the Société canadienne de science économique, on May 10. The award honours a Canadian researcher or a researcher from a Canadian university who has made a remarkable contribution to economic scientific life in Quebec or in Canada as a whole.

The Marcel Dagenais Award, along with a cash prize of $6,000, is presented every three years in recognition of a researcher’s scientific output in the six previous years. Over that period, the current holder of the Canada Research Chair in Risk Management has published over 20 papers, four of them in “A” journals, as classified by the Journal Citation Reports. Note that this is actually the second time this award has gone to Professor Dionne, who also received it in 1991.

In 2011, Professor Dionne received the Jean Guertin Award, the highest distinction in teaching from HEC Montréal, and the Innis Gérin Medal from the Royal Society of Canada for his eminent and sustained contribution to the social sciences. He is the President-elect of the Canadian Economics Association and Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Risk and Insurance.


The Marcel Dagenais Award

Originally known as the Société canadienne de science économique Award, it has been presented since 1982 and was renamed for Marcel Dagenais (1934-2001) in 2001, in tribute to a great mathematician and economist. Professor Dagenais made an immense contribution to research in economics and to the Société canadienne de science économique. He taught at the Institute of Applied Economics at HEC Montréal and the Department of Economics at the Université de Montréal.