News > 2017 > The Gérard Parizeau Award goes to demographer Jacques Légaré

The Gérard Parizeau Award goes to demographer Jacques Légaré

October 5, 2017

Robert Parizeau, coprésident du comité de coordination du fonds Gérard-Parizeau, Jacques Légaré, lauréat du prix Gérard-Parizeau 2017, et Michel Patry, directeur de HEC Montréal.

Robert Parizeau, Co-President of the Gérard Parizeau Fund Coordination Committee, Jacques Légaré, winner of the 2017 Gérard Parizeau Award, and Michel Patry, Director of HEC Montréal.

The winner of the 2017 Gérard Parizeau Award is Jacques Légaré, Professor Emeritus of Demography at the Université de Montréal.

The prestigious award, accompanied by a cash prize of $30,000, recognizes his exceptional contribution to fostering better understanding of the demographics of Quebec and the rest of Canada, and more specifically the economic and social impacts of an aging population.

Professor Légaré was invited to deliver an address at the award ceremony at HEC Montréal, on October 4. He spoke on the theme of demography over the past five decades: an evolving science that lets us analyze the changing behaviour of Quebec society.

A few words about Jacques Légaré

A Professor Emeritus, still active at the Université de Montréal, until just recently Jacques Légaré was a co-researcher at the Social and Economic Dimensions of an Aging Population Research Program (SEDAP), at McMaster University, and a consultant to the Population Activities Unit of the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE), in Geneva.  

After studying actuarial mathematics at the Université de Montreal, he earned his PhD in Demography at the Université de Paris. His many publications reflect his main fields of interest for many years now, i.e. population aging and Quebec’s historical demography.

About the Gérard Parizeau Fund

The Gérard Parizeau Fund was created in 2000 as a tribute to Gérard Parizeau, an outstanding figure in the Quebec insurance industry.

The Fund presents the Gérard Parizeau Award to researchers, professors or other leading lights in the fields of management, economics or history, in recognition of the value and originality of their thinking and their work.

The winner is chosen by a 9-member jury, consisting of the Dean of the Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies at the Université de Montréal, a representative of the Director of HEC Montréal, 3 members of the Parizeau family and 4 academic experts. The annual award is presented alternately by HEC Montréal and the Université de Montréal.