Two students win a Diplomacy Award at the WorldMUN, a United Nations simulation

April 19, 2012

Thanks to their leadership and their negotiating skills, Fanny Mégret and Géraud Menettrier, third-year BBA students in Economics and Finance, respectively, earned accolades at the 21st edition of WorldMUN, a United Nations (UN) simulation. This year the event was held at the University of British Columbia, in Vancouver, from March 11 to 15. The two students were among the top delegates on the Economic and Financial Committee (ECOFIN) and received a Diplomacy Award.

“We are proud to have received this award, and we believe our negotiating skills developed through the BBA program really helped us make our points in a diplomatic fashion during the simulation,” explains Fanny Mégret.

This was the first award won by HEC Montréal students and their second time at this prestigious simulation. WorldMUN is the leading UN simulation. It was created by Harvard University students, and reproduces the parliamentary process of the UN General Assembly. Note that the HEC Montréal delegation consisted of Maryam Badou, Maxime Charbonneau, Yasminah Franklin, Sandra Gédéon, Philippe Kaul-Meledje, Fanny Mégret, Géraud Menettrier, Noelline Meslin, Jonathan Nicolas, Steven Roth and Sabrina Trudeau Hamidi.

“Our students don’t often take part in simulations based on international politics, but this is the proof that training in Business Administration, characterized by multilingualism and openness to the world, can open the doors to a whole range of opportunities,” says Federico Pasin, Director of International Activities at HEC Montréal.

Note that the students organized fundraising evenings in co-operation with the School’s Société de relations d’affaires and bagged groceries at some Loblaws grocery stores to take part in the simulation.

The whole HEC Montréal community is proud of their success.


Participants, by committee


Fanny Mégret et Géraud Menettrier

Fanny Mégret and Géraud Menettrier


Délégation WorldMUN 2012

Left to right: Jonathan Nicolas, Noelline Meslin, Steven Roth, Yasminah Franklin, Sandra Gédéon, Fanny Mégret, Maxime Charbonneau, Maryam Badou, Sabrina Trudeau Hamidi, Géraud Menettrier and Philippe Kaul-Meledje

News > 2012 > Two students win a Diplomacy Award at the WorldMUN, a United Nations simulation