Gala Prix Reconnaissance : l’engagement étudiant à l’honneur

April 9, 2010

On April 7, second annual Recognition Awards gala, hosted by comic Christopher Hall, paid tribute to the variety and excellence of students’ achievements in 13 different categories. The awards were created to encourage, celebrate and acknowledge students’ involvement in the School’s associations and interest groups.

Over 40 undergraduate, graduate and postgraduate winners were lauded by 300 of their peers, who turned out to show their support for the student community and the School’s reputation.

The School presented Personality of the Year awards to David Pontbriand, Chair of the AEHEC Promo committee, Stéphanie Thiagharajah, President of groupe ABC, Jean-Philippe Latreille, President of the AEDESS, Simon Lessard-Bonaventure, President of the AEMD, and Luis E. Garcia, President of the AEMBA.

There were some 70 student nominations in the best new activity, best citizenship activity, best networking activity, most popular activity, and activities that made the greatest contribution to the School’s reputation, knowledge development, student community, and arts and culture categories. Awards also went to the most innovative committee, the best AEHEC committee, the most devoted executive member, and the volunteer of the year.

Each of the nominations was examined by a jury consisting of Karine Fortin, Manager, Recruitment and International Mobility, Raymond Chabot Grant Thornton, Nejib Ranni, Director, Business Development, National Bank, Pierre Francq, Director, Career Management Services, René Gendreau, Co-ordinator of Academic Competitions, Diane Lauzon, Student Life Co-ordinator, Student Services, Michel Lemay, Director, Alumni Service Department, and Jacques Nantel, Secretary General.

During the evening, Lyne Héroux, Director, Student Services, took a moment to salute the exceptional response by the student body to the disaster in Haiti in January. She said she was profoundly touched by the outpouring of support and by students’ ability to mobilize everyone for this humanitarian cause.

This second edition of the Recognition Awards gala was presented by the National Bank and Raymond Chabot Grant Thornton, in partnership with the Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec, the HEC Montréal Foundation, the Fondation des diplômés HEC, COOP HEC Montréal and Enterprise, location d’automobiles.

Photo - Recognition Awards Gala

Photo - Recognition Awards Gala

Photo - Recognition Awards Gala

Photo - Recognition Awards Gala

News > 2010 > Gala Prix Reconnaissance : l’engagement étudiant à l’honneur