Three Public Accountancy Students Win the First Pro Challenge

March 22, 2010

Over 30 students enrolled in the ten specialized graduate diploma and joint Master’s programs at HEC Montréal turned out for the Pro Challenge, an academic competition organized for the first time last weekend at the School. The team of Emmanuel André-Morin, Jean-Philippe Drainville and Étienne Lapointe, all in the specialized graduate diploma in public accounting program, took first place, followed by the team of Olivier Fafard, Florestan Ferroux and Louis-Philippe Lussier. The winners shared prizes of $2,500 and $500, respectively.

“It was hard to choose, because all the finalists were very good,” explained Lyne Héroux, Director, Student Services and jury member, “but I felt that Étienne, Jean-Philippe and Emmanuel distinguished themselves in all aspects of the competition.”

The event was organized under the direction of the association of specialized graduate diploma and joint Master’s students (AEDESS), by a committee of Zacharia Chati, Isabelle Chrun, Jean-Philippe Latreille, Alexandre Tremblay and Jean-François St-Pierre, head of the AEDESS and Director of the annual fundraising campaign by the School’s Development Office. Mr. St-Pierre said he was very proud of this first edition of the competition: “It was not only our first in-house competition, but above all one of the rare ways of highlighting our members’ excellence.” Louise Côté, Director of the graduate diploma programs, said she hopes there will be a second edition, “because it is important to recognize the exceptional work of our students in the different graduate diploma programs.”

The AEDESS wishes to emphasize the contribution by the event’s partners, the HEC Montréal Foundation and Coop HEC Montréal, and by the jury members: Louise Côté, Roxanne Duhamel, marketing specialist and President of RDMARCOM, Jacques Fortin, Director of Sustainable Development and Academic Supervisor of the Graduate Diploma in Public Accountancy, Marie-Christine Gagnon, advertising advisor for the Pigefolio recruitment firm, and Lyne Héroux.


Les gagnants et les membres du jury du Challenge des Pros

(From left to right) Jean-François St-Pierre, Jean-Philippe Drainville, Louise Côté, Étienne Lapointe, Emmanuel André-Morin.

News > 2010 > Three Public Accountancy Students Win the First Pro Challenge